• English

The Northern Dimension

The Northern Dimension (ND) is a joint policy of four equal partners: the European Union (EU), Russian Federation, Norway and Iceland. It was initiated in 1999 and renewed in 2006. The EU member states also take part in the cooperation in their national capacities. Belarus, which is part of the Baltic Sea catchment area, participates in practical cooperation. The USA and Canada hold observer status in the ND.

The ND policy aims at supporting stability, well-being and sustainable development in the region by means of practical cooperation. The Northern Dimension covers a wide range of sectors, such as the environment, nuclear safety, health, energy, transport, logistics, promotion of trade and investment, research, education and culture, to name a few.

The Northern Dimension operates through four partnerships; the Northern Dimension Environmental Partnership (NDEP), the Northern Dimension Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being (NDPHS), the Northern Dimension Partnership on Transport and Logistics (NDPTL) and the Northern Dimension Partnership on Culture (NDPC). The structure, nature and tasks of partnerships vary from project-centered financing to expert-oriented cooperation.


See all
Posted on Date:
Tuesday, December 5, 2017